Welcome Heroes!

SCORE A GOAL IN THE CLASSROOM is located at 575 Diamond Bar Trail - Aledo, TX 76008. You are welcome to email us at , call our office at 817-429-4024, or Ernie Horn, Executive Director, on his cell phone at 214-533-1333.

May God bless you and strengthen you each day. We want to encourage and serve every school employee, for y’all are truly the Heroes of our community. We invite you to our monthly meetings, every third Wednesday at St. Paul Lutheran Church, at 1800 W. I-30 Freeway, FW, 76102.

Score a Goal Events

October 2014

Post Categories

Post Archives

We are honored to serve all of the North Texas schools!

Web pic Sept

Published Sep 22, 2014 - Comments Off

2nd GRADE WALMART READING BEE CHAMPIONSHIPS – November 22, 2014 (for all of North Texas)

TCU READING FESTIVAL – Saturday, November 15 (9 to 11 a.m.) – open to all children ages 4 – 12!!  Free admission and books for all; lots of fun!!


Published Sep 17, 2014 - Comments Off

Tom Taber, with XTO Energy, presented Earnest Colvin with a $1,000 honorarium in addition to his Bayard H. Friedman Hero trophy Friday night, May 23, for being named the most outstanding 2014 Instrumental Music Teacher in all of North Texas!  Mr. Colvin received a thunderous ovation at the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra’s concert at Bass Hall during the award ceremony.  He has been a music theory and band teacher with the Fort Worth ISD for 34 years.  Earnest is married to Alfreida, who herself is an elementary principal in Fort Worth; together they have been very active in making a difference in our community’s young people!

We salute Mr. Colvin for being a tremendous inspiration to his students at Trimble Tech High School!  He has also been instrumental in encouraging countless other students who have gone on to become productive citizens and musicians.

Published May 24, 2014 - Comments Off

Casa Manana and Score A Goal In The Classroom made the surprise announcement at the Betty Buckley Awards Night on May 22 that Jessica Owens has been named the 2014 Bobbie Wygant HERO Award winner for being the most outstanding Drama-Fine Arts Director in all of North Texas!  Jessica is on staff at Colleyville’s Covenant Christian Academy, is married to her wonderful husband, Jeff, and has two fine sons who are also all excellent musicians.

Jessica received her Master’s of Music in Vocal Performance from Baylor University, and has made a dynamic impact on the drama and fine arts programs at her school.  She was presented with a $1,000 honorarium from XTO Energy/Exxon Mobil.

Published May 24, 2014 - Comments Off

The Fort Worth Safe Communities Coalition and Score A Goal have named Mr. Omar Ramos as the recipient of the 2014 Bayard H. Friedman Hero Award for being the most outstanding school principal in North Texas.  In addition to the award, Douglas Hooten, Executive Director of MedStar Mobile Health Care, presented Mr. Ramos with a $1,000 honorarium.  Mr. Ramos was honored at the May 16 board meeting of the Fort Worth Safe Communities Coalition. Omar is the principal at Trimble Tech High School, and his leadership is highly valued in that position.

Published May 24, 2014 - Comments Off

Lacey Espree, FWISD W.C.Stripling Middle School teacher, was the Score A Goal In The Classroom School Incentive Program’s “It’s Kool to Go to School” HERO OF THE YEAR for the 2013-2014 school year.  Lacey won a three-day, two-night, all expense trip for two to San Diego, California’s Omni Balboa Resort.  She also won VIP tickets to a San Diego Padres baseball game for her outstanding school year achievements and perfect attendance!!!!

Published May 24, 2014 - Comments Off

On April 8, 2014, the Dallas Stars and Score A Goal In The Classroom will honor DeeDee Rodriguez, Administrative Assistant to the Dallas ISD Superintendent of Schools.  DeeDee has been with the Dallas ISD for the last 15 years and has been selected the 2014 recipient of the Bayard H. Friedman Award for being the most outstanding school administrative assistant in North Texas!  She not only possesses a near-genius work ethic, loyalty,  and integrity; but also the ability to serve as a special liaison between the superintendent’s central office staff, school campuses, civic leaders, elected officials and community members.


Published Apr 02, 2014 - Comments Off

Hero Procedures  Are you a K – 12 grade educator and wish to nominate an outstanding candidate to receive the Bayard H. Friedman Award at an upcoming public event?  Please see the attached information, and be sure to attend the Score A Goal In The Classroom monthly meetings at St. Paul Lutheran Church at 5:15 p.m. on the 3rd Wednesday of every month to learn more.

You may also call the office at 817-429-4024 for more information

Published Feb 18, 2014 - Comments Off

CONGRATULATIONS to DEE DEE RODRIGUEZ, Dallas ISD’s Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent!!  Dee Dee was honored with the Bayard H. Friedman Hero Award at the Nutcracker performance at Bass Hall on December 15.   She is known for her superior capabilities plus great work ethic and good heart.  Dee Dee is an invaluable part of the Dallas ISD central office!

Published Feb 18, 2014 - Comments Off

2013 TX Reading Bee Champ, 2nd grader Tessebellia Read from the Crowley ISD shows off a few of her special awards to North Texas High School Rodeo Queen, Samantha Hernandez.  and Score A Goal In The Classroom board member and Fort Worth City Council member (District 4), Danny Scarth and at the conclusion of the TEXAS READING BEE CHAMPIONSHIPS  held at Texas Christian University on Saturday, November 23, 2013.  Also among those attending to help congratulate the 26 Reading Bee winners from the North Texas area and take pictures was the beautiful reigning Miss Texas 2013, Susan Shuler.

Danny Scarth with RB Champ Tessebellia Read and Samantha Read

Danny Scarth with RB Champ Tessebellia Read and Samantha Hernandez

Runner-up was Abby Powell of Aledo ISD; 3rd place winner was Anja Moore of the Birdville ISD; 4th place winner was Alexander Aleman from St. John the Apostle Catholic School; and 5th place winner was Catie McGann from St. Peter the Apostle Catholic School.  We are very proud of all these super reader winners!!

Here is  list of the other 2013 winners of their districts/private schools competing at the championships level:  Evie Ferguson – White Settlement ISD; Zachary Moroneso – St. Paul Lutheran Church School; Ty Cleveland – St. Andrews Catholic School; Mclain Miller – Springtown ISD; Ananda Dobbins – Our Mother of Mercy Catholic School; Alexis Martinez – Lake Worth ISD; Tatum Szikula – Kennedale ID; Tyler Poynter – Joshua ISD; Christopher Tamer – Holy Trinity Catholic School; Ryan Louden – Holy Family Catholic School; Katlyn Springman – Granbury ISD; Christian Martinez – Fort Worth ISD; Tucker Morris – Everman ISD; Ranyah Hugh – E. Fort Worth Montessori; Nathan Allison – Eagle Mt.-Saginaw ISD; Luzcira Villalobos – Dallas ISD; Katy Britt – Cleburne ISD; Kalum White – Castleberry ISD; Tamara Tubbs – Calvary Christian Academy; Bailey Morris – Burleson ISD; and Charly Bartolome – Alvarado ISD.

Below, Tessebellia Read receives the prestigious Thunder Reading Stick from the 2012 Reading Champ, Sam Willey.

2013 RB Champ and 2012 RB Champ with Award

Tessebellia is crowned the 2013 most outstanding 2nd grade reader, chosen from the approximate 71,000 North Texas 2nd graders that competed in this year’s TEXAS READING BEE CHAMPIONSHIPS COMPETITION.  Here our champ is getting ready to spin the wheels on her fantastic Karting Distributor’s brand new 1st place award – this candy apple red GoKart!  Congratulations, Champ!!   “(Stay between the lines; the lines are our friends)”!!

RB winner 1 (2)

Published Oct 18, 2013 - Comments Off